top of page

Good Morning Dog Food!

The white Eskimo is Bacardi. Jack is the tan. (Liquor is what I drink, yes)

Bacardi began having seizures over a month ago. Very scary stuff. He was diagnosed as Hypoglycemic and was going to be treated with a medication that would, you know, just make him woozy for life. Sounds like the dog I know, that has springs for back legs, a bark so loud and full of life it peirces your ears and an energy level to convince you that he is still a puppy behind his cateracts. I wanted nothing more then to stop the seizures and still keep him, him. His levels were low; Glucose, Magnesium, Calcium, and others. My natural solution was to change his diet.

1)No more cheap Dog Food (Mcdonalds quality) If you own a dog you should be aware of what they are. Go on, research it. You will be amazed.

2)Grain Free, Organic and a little more money (Taste of the Wild) dog food

3)To save money for the month (lord knows I am on a budget) reduce the dog food

4)Supplement with Rice, Slow Cooked whole Chicken peices, Carrots, Squash, Sweet Potatoes, Peas, Hard Boiled Egg, Left over fat, and more.

5)Buy and Cook it in Bulk. I fill the dog food bowl with preferred porportions of each, mix it all together (I warm it up first because I spoil them, they eat it cold too) serve them and watch the difference over time

6)Some dogs are more selective then others. Dont be discoureged is your dog sticks his nose up to some

7)Remeber to slowly introduce the fresh food over time. I now only serve them the dog food as a sprinkle topping and the reason why is so they can be fed dog food if for some reason I do not have fresh food prepared for them. Back up! Plus I like the idea that they are sprinkles.

In the end, not only Bacardi gets this delicious prepared meal in the morning but all the dogs are dining on fresh food. Bacardi has stopped having seizures, gained his weight back and has solid poop! Yay, real food!

Yes, it is more work and time for me but I have come to enjoy it because they enjoy it.

Untitled.png
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page